Disabled

Golf Association


___________


Facebook

fb.com/disabledgolf



Event Coordinators

John Riordan (North)

Paul Piercy (South East)

Susie Mew (North London, Midlands, South Central/Coast SW)



National Coordinator

To register for DGA events

Graeme Robertson

Tel: 07932 061680

E: graeme.disabledgolf@gmail.com


___________
























Useful Links

  

  Scotland SDGC

  Wales WDGA

  Ireland CGI

  Handigolf

  Golf Foundation


_______________



Reviews

 

 "The Disabled Golf

  Association has given

  my husband his

  life back"

Jennifer Lawrence



  "Outstanding in all

   aspects"

Terrence Williamson


________________

DGA Events 2020

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Our events for the 2020 season are listed below. You can register to play through Master Scoreboard but please register your email address first with Graeme via our Contact page. We update the list throughout the season so please check back regularly. Should there be any changes or cancellations due to the weather we will notify our members via email.

 

Order of Merit Events (OOM)       Major Events       Qualifying Events       Super Six Events 

  March
   Fri 6th     Hampton Court    Surrey    hamptoncourtgolf.co.uk  
   Fri 6th    Frodsham    Cheshire    frodshamgolf.co.uk
   Fri 13th    Bicester    Oxfordshire    bicestergolf.com
   Fri 13th    Thorne    South Yorkshire    thornegolf.co.uk
   Fri 20th    Pedham Place    Kent    pedhamplace.co.uk
   Fri 20th    Stoke Rochford    Lincolnshire    stokerochford.co.uk
   Fri 27th    Chesfield Downs    Hertfordshire    chesfielddowns.co.uk
   Fri 27th    Springwater    Nottinghamshire    springwatergolf.co.uk
   Mon 30th    Copt Heath (Super Six Final 2019)    West Midlands    coptheathgolf.co.uk
  April
   Fri 3rd    Kilworth Springs    Leicestershire    kilworthsprings.co.uk
   Mon 6th     Bondhay

   Nottinghamshire

   bondhaygolfclub.com
   Fri 10th     Cumberwell Park    Wiltshire    cumberwellpark.com
   Tue 14th    Redbourn    Hertfordshire

   redbourngolfclub.co.uk

   Fri 17th    Styrrup Hall    South Yorkshire    styrruphall.co.uk
   19th/20th    The Belfry (North v South 2019)    West Midlands    thebelfry.com
   Mon 27th    Duxbury Park    Lancashire    duxburypark.co.uk
   Wed 29th    Hockley    Hampshire    hockleygolf.co.uk
  May
   Mon 4th    Waterton Park    West Yorkshire    watertonpark.org.uk
   Tue 5th    Hever Castle    Kent    hevercastle.co.uk
   Fri 8th    High Post    Wiltshire    highpost.co.uk
   Sat 9th    Poult Wood (Southern Disability Open)    Kent    poultwood.co.uk
   Tue 12th    Rudding Park    North Yorkshire    ruddingpark.co.uk
   Thu 14th    Collingtree Park    Northamptonshire    collingtree.com
   Mon 18th    Low Laithes    West Yorkshire    lowlaithes.co.uk
   Fri 22nd    Tall Pines    Somerset    tallpines.co.uk
   Thu 28th    Boundary Lakes    Hampshire    boundarylakes.co.uk
   Fri 29th    Kingswood    South Yorkshire    kingswood.co.uk
   June
   Wed 3rd    Gloucester    Gloucestershire    gloucestergolf.com
   Fri 5th    Hart Common    Lancashire    hartcommon.co.uk
   Mon 8th    Warley Park    Essex    warleypark.co.uk
   Fri 12th    Rother Valley    South Yorkshire    rothervalley.co.uk
   Fri 19th    The Wiltshire    Wiltshire    thewiltshire.co.uk
   Fri 19th    Darrington    West Yorkshire    darringtongolf.com
   Wed 24th    Lakeside Lodge (East Anglian Open)    Cambridgeshire    lakesidelodge.co.uk
   Wed 24th    Whitefield    Manchester    whitefieldgolf.com
   Thu 25th    Woodcote Park    Surrey    woodcotegolf.com
   26th-28th    Whittlebury Park (English Open)    Northamptonshire    whittlebury.com
   Tue 30th    Hill Valley    Shropshire    hillvalley.co.uk
   Tue 30th    Sand Martins    Berkshire    sandmartins.com
   July
   Tue 7th    Portal Golf Club (Northern Open)    Cheshire    portalgolf.co.uk
   Wed 8th    Sudbury    North London    sudburygolf.co.uk
   Fri 17th    Willow Valley    West Yorkshire    willowvalley.co.uk
   Fri 17th    Cams Hall    Hampshire    camshall.co.uk
   Tue 21st    Rushcliffe    Nottinghamshire    rushcliffegolf.co.uk
   Wed 22nd    Westerham    Kent    westerhamgolf.co.uk
      Cut Off For North v South
   Mon 27th    The Shire (Golf Trust Open)    London    theshirelondon.com
   Fri 31st    Harleyford    Buckinghamshire    harleyfordgolf.co.uk
   August
   5th/6th/7th    Stratford Park (Disabled British Open)    Warwickshire    stratfordpark.co.uk
   Wed 5th    Blackburn    Lancashire    blackburngolf.co.uk
   Mon 10th    Ramsdale Park    Nottinghamshire    ramsdalepark.co.uk
   Thu 13th    Mannings Heath    West Sussex    manningsheath.com
   Mon 17th    Styrrup Hall    South Yorkshire    styrruphall.co.uk
   Mon 17th    Ealing Golf Club    West London    ealinggolf.com
   Tue 25th    Mill Hill    North London    millhillgolf.co.uk
   Thu 27th    Astbury    Cheshire    astburygolf.com
   30th/31st    Breadsall Priory (North v South 2020)    Derbyshire

   breadsallpriory.co.uk

   September
   8th/9th/10th    Strathmore (Scottish Open)    Perthshire    strathmoregolf.com
   Wed 16th    Castle Eden    County Durham    castleeden.co.uk
   Mon 21st    Copt Heath (Super Six Final 2020)    West Midlands    coptheathgolf.co.uk

_________________________________________________

Order of Merit (OOM)

 

The Order of Merit is a points based competition where players accumulate points in OOM events throughout the season. Points are awarded on a sliding scale to the top ten finishers in each OOM event and a players total is calculated on their best ten scoring events over the season.

 

OOM Points awarded are:

1st Place (25pts) 2nd Place (18pts)
3rd Place (15pts) 4th Place (10pts)
5th Place (8pts) 6th Place (5pts)
7th Place (4pts) 8th Place (3pts)
9th Place (2 pts) 10th Place (1pt)

 

The top ten players in the OOM automatically qualify for any international or inter association competition providing they have played in at least 8 events in the season before the published cut-off date. 

 

In addition to the top 10 qualifiers, Team England, Team North and Team South captains have up to 3 additional selections to their respective teams - Captain's Picks. 

 

Major Events

These are open events and attract players from the DGA, Scottish DGA, Welsh DGA and other disabled golfing organisations.

 

 

Qualifying Events

These are only open to players who have pre-qualified through certain events including the Super Six series.

 

 

International Matches

Ryder Cup style matches played between England, Scotland and Wales.

 

 

Inter Association Matches

A two day Ryder Cup style match between Team North and Team South.

 

 

 

Handicaps

 

The Association has a computerised system, HandicapMaster, which we use for recording scores at events, creating new events, booking entries online, linking the event scores to Masterscoreboard.co.uk and many more administrative functions that assist in the smooth running of the Association.

 

In the first instance, a new member with a current competition CONGU handicap is allowed to begin with us on that handicap on production of the official CONGU Handicap Certificate. When a new member joins us without a recognised handicap, he/she has to submit 3 cards from our events to obtain a DGA Handicap. In either event, our rules state they are not allowed to win at their first event so we protect the integrity of the event.

 

Thereafter, every handicap is maintained via the results system for each event. The only variations on this are that for those club golfers who receive a handicap cut at their own club, they are duty bound to inform our Handicap Secretary if that is lower than their DGA current one so it can be adjusted accordingly. In addition, the Handicap Secretary may increase or reduce a member's handicap on general play or exceptional score situations. Should this happen, an email will be sent to the member informing them of the reduction/addition.

 

Event scoring is based on the Stableford system. As we are an Association with many members not having a recognised CONGU handicap, we operate our own policy. However, it is closely based on CONGU Rules. 

 

At each event, the top third of the players' scores are added together and then divided by however many that top third constitutes. (e.g. if there are 12 players that equates to the top 4 scores) This then gives us a CSS Stableford Points figure for the day. Scores above and below this score are then subject to one of: A reduction, no change or an addition of .1 to ongoing handicaps based on CONGU principles.

 

There are two points to stress here; a reduction in a player's handicap may result even if their score is below the 36 pts that would not normally attract such a reduction in club golf. The Association handicap has no bearing whatsoever for those members of a club playing in their own or other club events. 

 

If there are any queries or problems, feel free to contact the Handicap Secretary.

 

John Riordan

07455 050305

johnriordan666@gmail.com