Disabled

Golf Association


___________


Facebook

fb.com/disabledgolf



Event Coordinators

John Riordan (North)

Paul Piercy (South East)

Susie Mew (North London, Midlands, South Central/Coast SW)



National Coordinator

To register for DGA events

Graeme Robertson

Tel: 07932 061680

E: graeme.disabledgolf@gmail.com


___________

Useful Links

  

  Scotland SDGC

  Ireland CGI

  Wales DGA

  Handigolf

  Golf Foundation

 

_______________

 

 

Reviews

 

 "The Disabled Golf

  Association has given

  my husband his

  life back"

Jennifer Lawrence

 

 

  "Outstanding in all

   aspects"

Terrence Williamson

 

________________

DGA Events 2021

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Our events for the 2021 season are listed below. You can register to play through Master Scoreboard but please register your email address first with Graeme via our Contact page. We update the list throughout the season so please check back regularly. Should there be any changes or cancellations due to Covid-19 or the weather we will notify our members via email.

 

Order of Merit Events (OOM)       Major Events       Qualifying Events      

  April
   Wed 14th    Sherfield Oaks    Hampshire

   sherfieldoaks.co.uk

   Fri 16th    Springwater    Nottinghamshire

   springwatergolf.com

   Mon 19th    Styrrup Hall    South Yorkshire

   styrruphall.co.uk

   Wed 21st    Mill Green    Hertfordshire

   millgreen.co.uk

   Mon 26th    Duxbury Park    Lancashire

   duxburypark.co.uk

   Thu 29th    Pyrford Lakes    Surrey

   pryfordlakes.co.uk

 
 
  May
   Tue 4th    Pedham Place    Kent    pedhamplace.co.uk
   Wed 5th     Bondhay

   Nottinghamshire

   bondhaygolfclub.com
   Thu 13th    Rudding Park    North Yorkshire    ruddingpark.co.uk
   Thu 27th     Horsham Golf

   West Sussex

   horshamgolf.co.uk
   Fri 28th    Kingswood    South Yorkshire    kingswood.co.uk
   Mon 31st    Low Laithes    West Yorkshire    lowlaithes.co.uk
 
 
   June
   Fri 4th    Gloucester    Gloucestershire    gloucestergolf.com
   Fri 4th    Bradley Park    Huddersfield    bradleypark.co.uk
   Tue 8th    Warley Park    Essex    warleypark.co.uk
   Fri 11th    Rother Valley    South Yorkshire    rothervalley.co.uk
   Fri 18th    Bicester    Oxfordshire    bicestergolf.co.uk
   Fri 18th    Darrington    West Yorkshire    darringtongolf.com
   Wed 23rd    Whitefield    Manchester    whitefieldgolf.com
   22nd - 24th    Whittlebury Park (English Open)    Northamptonshire    whittlebury.com
   Fri 25th    Cams Hall    Hampshire    camshall.co.uk
   Mon 28th    Thorne Golf Club    South Yorkshire    thornegolf.co.uk
 
 
   July
   Fri 2nd    Sandford Springs    Hampshire    sandfordsprings.co.uk
   Mon 5th    Waterton Park    West Yorkshire    watertonpark.co.uk
   Wed 7th    Sudbury    North London    sudburygolf.co.uk
   Mon 12th    Boundary Lakes    Hampshire    boundarylakes.co.uk
   Tue 13th    Ramsdale Park (Colson Trophy)    Nottinghamshire    ramsdalegolf.co.uk
   Wed 14th    The Drift    Surrey    driftgolfclub.com
   Wed 21st     Sherfield Oaks    Hampshire    sherfieldoaks.co.uk
   Wed 21st    Willow Valley    West Yorkshire    willowvalley.co.uk
   Mon 26th    The Shire (Golf Trust Open)    London    theshirelondon.com
   Fri 30th    Hart Common    Lancashire    hartcommon.co.uk
   Fri 30th    Collingtree Park    Northamptonshire    collingtree.com
 
 
   August
   Tue 3rd    Redlibbets    Kent    redlibbets.co.uk
   Wed 4th    Stoke Rochford    Lincolnshire    stokerochford.co.uk
   7th/8th    North v South    Midlands    thebelfry.co.uk
   Tue 10th    Denton Golf Club    Manchester    dentongolf.co.uk
   Thu 12th    Mannings Heath    West Sussex    manningsheath.com
CUT OFF FOR ENGLAND TEAM SELECTION
   Mon 16th    Ealing Golf Club    West London    ealinggolf.com
   Fri 20th    Rushcliffe Golf Club    Leicestershire    rushcliffegolf.co.uk
   Mon 23rd    Seaford Head    Sussex    seafordhead.co.uk
   Thu 26th    Astbury Golf Club    Cheshire    astburygolf.com
   Fri 27th    Cumberwell Park    Wiltshire    cumberwellpark.com
 
 
   September
   Thu 2nd    Copt Heath - Super Six Final    West Midlands    coptheathgolf
   Fri 7th    Bird Hills    Berkshire    birdhillsgolf.co.uk
   13th - 15th    Scotland v England    Fife    elmwoodgolf.co.uk
   Wed 22nd    Farleigh    Surrey    farleighgolf.co.uk
 
 
   October
   Fri 1st    Chesfield Downs    Hertfordshire    chesfielddowns.co.uk
   Fri 7th    Hampton Court    Surrey    hamptoncourt.co.uk
   Fri 15th    Kilworth Springs    Leicestershire    kilworthsprings.co.uk

_________________________________________________

Order of Merit (OOM)

 

The Order of Merit is a points based competition where players accumulate points in OOM events throughout the season. Points are awarded on a sliding scale to the top ten finishers in each OOM event and a players total is calculated on their best ten scoring events over the season.

 

OOM Points awarded are:

1st Place (25pts) 6th Place (5pts)
2nd Place (18pts) 7th Place (4pts)
3rd Place (15pts) 8th Place (3pts)
4th Place (10pts) 9th Place (2pts)
5th Place (8pts) 10th Place (1pt)

 

The top ten players in the OOM automatically qualify for any international or inter association competition providing they have played in at least 8 events in the season before the published cut-off date. 

 

In addition to the top 10 qualifiers, Team England, Team North and Team South captains have up to 3 additional selections to their respective teams - Captain's Picks. 

 

Major Events

These are open events and attract players from the DGA, Scottish DGA, Welsh DGA and other disabled golfing organisations.

 

 

Qualifying Events

These are only open to players who have pre-qualified through certain events including the Super Six series.

 

 

International Matches

Ryder Cup style matches played between England, Scotland and Wales.

 

 

Inter Association Matches

A two day Ryder Cup style match between Team North and Team South.

 

 

 

Handicaps

 

The Association has a computerised system, HandicapMaster, which we use for recording scores at events, creating new events, booking entries online, linking the event scores to Masterscoreboard.co.uk and many more administrative functions that assist in the smooth running of the Association.

 

In the first instance, a new member with a current competition CONGU handicap is allowed to begin with us on that handicap on production of the official CONGU Handicap Certificate. When a new member joins us without a recognised handicap, he/she has to submit 3 cards from our events to obtain a DGA Handicap. In either event, our rules state they are not allowed to win at their first event so we protect the integrity of the event.

 

Thereafter, every handicap is maintained via the results system for each event. The only variations on this are that for those club golfers who receive a handicap cut at their own club, they are duty bound to inform our Handicap Secretary if that is lower than their DGA current one so it can be adjusted accordingly. In addition, the Handicap Secretary may increase or reduce a member's handicap on general play or exceptional score situations. Should this happen, an email will be sent to the member informing them of the reduction/addition.

 

Event scoring is based on the Stableford system. As we are an Association with many members not having a recognised CONGU handicap, we operate our own policy. However, it is closely based on CONGU Rules. 

 

At each event, the top third of the players' scores are added together and then divided by however many that top third constitutes. (e.g. if there are 12 players that equates to the top 4 scores) This then gives us a CSS Stableford Points figure for the day. Scores above and below this score are then subject to one of: A reduction, no change or an addition of .1 to ongoing handicaps based on CONGU principles.

 

There are two points to stress here; a reduction in a player's handicap may result even if their score is below the 36 pts that would not normally attract such a reduction in club golf. The Association handicap has no bearing whatsoever for those members of a club playing in their own or other club events. 

 

If there are any queries or problems, feel free to contact the Handicap Secretary.

 

John Riordan

07455 050305

johnriordan666@gmail.com